Tasmanian Government Logo

Department of Justice

About the Department of Justice

The Department of Justice contributes to a just and safe society by providing systems and services for the promotion and maintenance of rights and responsibilities and the resolution of disputes, for the benefit of the Tasmanian community.


The Department is responsible to the following Ministers:

  • Will Hodgman MP, Attorney-General
  • Elise Archer MP, Minister for Justice and Minister for Corrections
  • Peter Gutwein MP, Treasurer and Minister for Planning
  • Guy Barnett MP, Minister for Building and Construction

The Department

The Department of Justice provides services that maintain and promote rights and responsibilities, resolve disputes, and contribute to the aim of a safer and more inclusive society to benefit the Tasmanian community as a whole.

More information on the structure and operations of the Department is available in our Organisational Chart and Annual report.

Read our Feedback Policy to find out how to provide feedback about the Department’s services when you believe that we have failed to meet the Service Standards listed in the Policy, or that our facilities were not adequate.