COVID-19 information

Tasmanian Government Logo

Logo of the Tasmanian Government

Lay members of the Disciplinary Tribunal

The Government of Tasmania is seeking expressions of interest from members of the community who are not lawyers who wish to be considered for appointment to the Disciplinary Tribunal established by the Legal Profession Act 2007.

The Tribunal consists of 10 Australian legal practitioners and 5 lay persons and has the responsibility for hearing and determining complaints involving allegations of professional misconduct against legal practitioners. The Legal Profession Act 2007 sets out further details regarding the membership, functions and powers of the Tribunal.

Members of the Disciplinary Tribunal receive remuneration at the rate of $315 per session and can be appointed for terms of up to three years. Current members are eligible to apply for reappointment.

Persons lodging expressions of interest are asked to provide a curriculum vitae outlining relevant areas of experience and interest, together with any additional information supporting their expression of interest, including the names and contact details of two referees.

Expressions of interest may be sent to;


Department of Justice
GPO Box 825

Applications must be received by close of business Friday 20 May 2022. All applications will be acknowledged when received.

For further enquiries please contact Mr Jarrod Bryan on (03) 6165 6787 or