Tasmanian Government Logo

Department of Justice

Commercial Energy Efficiency

Energy Efficiency requirements for Commercial and Public Buildings.

In Tasmania all new commercial buildings, or extensions and alterations to existing commercial buildings, must comply with the mandatory energy efficiency provisions of Section J of Volume One of the Building Code of Australia (BCA).  The BCA is published as part of the National Construction Code (NCC) series.  The objective of these provisions is to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. 

The adoption of BCA 2013 introduced enhanced energy efficiency measures.  Since BCA 2010, new commercial buildings were expected to achieve a level of performance in line with the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) target of a 2:1 benefit to cost ratio.

Mandatory energy efficiency requirements for all types of commercial buildings were first introduced in Tasmania between 2005 - 2006.  Commercial buildings include

  • shops
  • offices
  • factories
  • public buildings
  • sleeping accommodation (including sole occupancy units) and
  • health care or aged care buildings.

Included are all Class 2 - 9 buildings within the BCA building classification system.

The BCA energy efficiency provisions are focused on the thermal efficiency of the building and its services.  It does not take into account embodied energy used in making construction materials.